The Art of the Mind
Today's entry is dedicated to my memory....Yes, my memory...or what's left of it....You see, though I have this serious problem with my mentally recordings, it has amzingly decided to through me a bone the other day as I was sitting idly at my laptop engaged in a round of "Minesweeper".....

You see, for the past few months now, I've been seriously contemplating whether or not I want to be a Computer Engineering major...Now, I love computers and technology and all, but I truly do not see that route of expertise as my life's path....So then, the question is posed....What exactly DO I want to major in?...And the answer is....I DON'T KNOW...I do know that what ever it is, it has to engage my mind....Since the past year, thanks to Mr. Collier and a random trip to my household library, My eyes have been open to just that....Books and passages dealing with opinions and theories....The Writings of Plato, Socrates, and Aristotle....Plays by Shakespeare....and the list goes on....I thirsted for thought and knowledge, and fell upon a fountain of information....

So now you might be wondering, "So, what's that have to do with your memory?"....Well, while trying to locate those mines...I remembered a time where my mother asked me what i wanted to be when I got older, and I said that I'd wanna be a psychologist....I loved dealing with people and understanding how they work/move/think....At that she abruptly declared "NO!...You don't wanna do that...Where are you going to find a job?...Where's the money in that?..You should work with computers...You always liked them"....

You see, I remembered that I was a victim....Not a helpless, sorry victim....but a victim nonetheless....I was raped of my Hope's virginity, and infected with an "Avatar Disease", leading me to deliriously strive for my Aggressor's desires....I was letting my mother's dream for me control me...I was allowing her to live through me in deciding the future of my education....

SO, will I switch to Psychology?...I don't know, maybe sociology, or Africana Studies....but I know that it will deal with people.....Will I veer away from computers totally?...No, I'll probably minor in engineering, or maybe programming.....

All I know is that I refuse to fall prey to this illness any longer, and it's due time that a vaccine of "Self" is administered.....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / In Statu Quo.....As You Were..... (09.12.02)