The Art of the Mind
Yeah, I have been gone for some time...I just got back to the States from Barbados....Saw some family and friends...made some new friends...it was good to go and much needed...."needing" beeing the operative notion....I dunno how many entries I can probably get from the 2 weeks there, but something I saw does stand out in my mind....

We had gone to some mini-market parked, waiting for my father to exchange some currency inside...While I'm waiting in the car, I see this little black and white dog running about and sniffing this and that...After about 5 minutes of this, a pitbull comes out from the back of a house and attacks the black/white one...

At first you don't really think anything of it, dogs will fight and pit was doing his job protecting his territory....But then you realize that it's a pit...And second thing you learn about a pit is that once they bite, they do not let go....

...the first thing is they go for the neck....

I saw 3 other dogs come from the block and seemed to try helping the black/white one...But they know the rules for pitbulls too, so they eventually backed off...And after about 5-10 minutes of growls and yelps, the black/white lost...literally dead in the gutter...

But thats not the full reason why this stands out to me...My father comes out just before the final moments and we leave down the road...Not even 4 houses down from the bloody slaughter I had finished watching was there a little boy, probably the same 4-5 years of age as those dogs, smiling like no tomorrow riding his tricycle....

THAT is what made it seem almost surreal....Just as fast as you witness a life just before it is taken...you will see a life just after it is given...

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / The Ebb and Flow..... (05.23.04)