The Art of the Mind
I remember growing up thinking it'd be cool to have a Big Brother...but I was so shy even around my own parents about some things that I wouldn't have even dared raise the question...What made it a little worse was that I actually have an older brother, but I only saw him maybe once or twice a year, so that was negatory....Only recently did I finally get that Mentor Experience in the form of my English Teacher in high school, Mr. Collier....The first time I saw him, he reminded me of a cross between Suge Knight and the Principal from Boston Public....And upon that first visual encounter, there was a physical one as well...We passed each other in the hallway, but not before he took a short step and threw out the back of his forarm/elbow to me, in a football-style manner, and I followed suit and intrinsicly blocked with my own arms...And as quickly as that occured, we went our own ways without a word spoken, not a step out of stride.....

I recall the first time we formally met, per introduction from the Theatre Arts teacher, Mrs. Murtagh...From the beginning we clicked...Talked about food, exercise, diet, books, movies, society, etc....And the only reason we came to meet was because for some reason he saw himself in me and wanted me in his Advanced Placement class (at the time I was taking a Theatre Arts class)....

Because it was so late in the year that I finally switched into his class (the middle of the 3rd quarter), he sacrificed his free time, his lunch break, and even after school hours just to get me up to date...He felt that I could do so much better than some trivial (the class not the subject) Theatre Arts class and that I'd benefit from his own, empowering my writing, as well as speaking, prowess....Through him I gained a stronger appreciation for literature and learned that it is far more than just an assignment and a good story....An appreciation that I apply to just about everything today....

He and I still speak regularly...Because we both have school to deal with, from our own individual perspectives, we don't talk too often, but we often correspond via phone or internet nonetheless...I remember Mrs. Murtagh telling me exactly how Mr. Collier came to inquire about me, since he never even knew my name when he requested me in his class....She said that he mentioned our initial Football Encounter at the beginning of the year...And that he didn't even know exactly why he did it, but that when he saw me, he was reminded of his younger self and saw a great deal of potential in me....At that same moment, he became concerned as to why I wasn't chosen to be in his AP class and instead a Theatre Arts class...He was so concerned, in fact, that he began research on me, asking teachers and students about who I was and what my capabilities were...Even to the point where he held meetings with the Principal and my guidance couselor petitioning my transfer from Mrs. Murtagh's class to his own...Needless to say, I was flattered, honored, and amazed all at the same time....Someone actually put all that work and effort into my future and my education based off of a retro/intro-spective hunch....

Mr. Marshall Collier became my mentor when he took me under his wing and and taught me a great deal of what it is that I know today...He became my mentor when he stopped being my teacher....He became my mentor when he became concerned with all the other aspects my life that most other teachers weren't....But there came a point when he could no longer be my mentor....No, he had to drop that title because it fit him no longer....That was the point where he became a valued and, hopefully, life-long friend....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / 'Twas Mentor Be.... (01.26.03)