The Art of the Mind
(The last entry was a prequel/preface to this one here) Well....For quite some time now....I've been looking for something to rejuvenate me....Now, I'm not referring to an increase in youthful vim and vigor...No, no, no....I'm hitting 19 in a few weeks...I'm talking about something that stimulates me...Something that makes me feel as if I have accomplished something, but more than just feel like I've accomplished...Something that I have actually accomplished....I am pretty sure that I have yet to convey what I'm talking about, so I'll cease with the allusion....

Not too long ago, I came to the conclusion that I want to become an educator....I want to be able to reach young people first hand...I want to be able to make some sort of difference in their lives...But that is after I earn my degree and so forth....

But at the state of Now....I still feel this urge, this thirst, this yearning to do the same....It hit me during my Philosophy class the other day as we were discussing Plato, which was educated under the Socrates....And such was the scenario at that time...One learned under another...In Socrates' case, it was not for monetary value, but, rather, for his pupils' intellectual understanding....

Yeah, I know I said I was getting to the point, but i got carried away...But anyway, this is my point...I want to be a mentor...a Big Brother...I want to be instrumental in aiding a child's growing up and understanding of everyday life...I want to help improve a child's everyday life....Teachers, for the most part, are limited to the classroom....Parents are limited, for the most part, to the time their child is home....I want to be that missing factor for when the child is not home, for when he is not at school...Even if it is for a few hours a week...Within that short span of time, a difference can most certainly be made...I want to be that person that they can call up any time of day/night because they need someone to talk to...because they don't feel right asking their parents or a teacher about something....and because it's a lot easier to pick up a blunt or a bottle.....I want to be a mentor....

So I've decided to look into a program in Detroit if I get into Wayne State...It'd be so cool...But not "cool" like some kind of fad or fashion....No, it'd be "cool" like the right thing to do and the aiding of another....It'd be the next step and who I am....Writing down thoughts and discussing things are great...You get to express yourself and ideas...But when you take action and actually do something about it....Well, that's just advancing to the next levvel.....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Big Brother is Teaching.... (01.26.03)