The Art of the Mind
"I'm sorry, she's not taking anymore today."...That's how I basically started my academic day yesterday morning and this morning....

Since I decided to change my major to education, that meant that I had to take my records from teh School of Technology to the College of Education....That means that I first had to actually know where the College of Educaiton was....Then I had to find the time in my schedule to go down there (which was oh so conveniently all the way across campus) and hand over my papers AND schedule a new date to meet with my new advisor for next semester's schedule.....

So i finally find the time to go down there...I had to go the following week, as that was the earliest time I can find since I only had one class that day....Well, I wait the week and go down, hoping that I'd be lucky enough to be advised right there.....Foolish me, I forgot that I never get a break....So the guy behind the desk tells me that she's was out for the day and the next time she does advising would be Monday of the following week from 8-11am....OK...I was jsut unlucky..I'ma have to wait till next Monday....

Monday morning I get up at 9am, get ready and all that, and leave outta here by a little after 10am...OK, I got an hour left before she's done, so I walk ALL the way across campus, mind you I only have a BASIC idea of where I'm going...Finally get there...and tell the girl behind the desk that I'm here for advisement....She say's:

"I'm sorry, she's not taking anymore today."

I was like, "But the guy last week told me from 8-11, it's about 10:40 now"...And with a slight tone of haughty dismissal she tells me, "Yeah, but she's got these 2 sitting here left...Come back tomorrow and try coming before 10:30"...Just like that...Sounded like she was basically saying "Yeah, OK, Boo-Hoo, try tommorrow"...Whatever, I left, dispite her attitude, she had a legit areguement...2 others and only 20 minutes left.....So I left, getting up early for no reason whatsoever....I don't get much sleep, so i was a little upset over that.....

Which brings us to today...Tuesday...The aforementioned "Tomorrow"....I get up earlier this time, about 8:30-8:45...And proceed to go through the same motions as before...It's like Deja Vu...I went down there walked through the door, two different people this time were sitting there too....I said, "I'm here for my advisement"...And you know what she said?....

"I'm sorry, she's not taking anymore today."

Now, I woke up TWO mornings in a row...Yesterday I had a LONG day of classes, I did NOT need to wake up so early in teh first place, but i needed my advisement so I got up to be turned away in the end....And now this morning, I had NO classes, I could have slept late, but I had to get up early again, go ALL the way back there and I'm told "NO" for a second time?...Uh-Uh...It was WAY too early and I was WAY too grumpy (happens when I don't get enough sleep) to go get turned down again....

When she said that...I stopped, my face turned cold and I gave her, as Kika would call it, the Look-Of-Hades....I said, "No...I came by here yesterday morning, was told 8-11 and you said she wasn't takin anymore...then you said to come today, tues--"...That's when she cut me off and was like "Yeah, I said before 10:30"...That got me even angrier, cuz for a minute she sounded like she was tryna flex on me and prove me dumb....Thats when I took a short step closer, bent my back a little to level our line of vision, looked her DEAD in her eyes, and stretched my arm stright to the side, pointing at the clock and said:

"It is 10:15! I came before 10:30, this is the THIRD time I'm in this office....I need to schedule my classes, and you're turning me back agian?..NO...I need that blasted blasted registration number so I can log on and get my blasted classes....I am NOT gonna let myself get screwed over because of YOU!"

Thats when all of a sudden she gets all accomidating and says, "OK...I'll see what I can do"...Honestly, I had a few more words for her, but I figured she was willing to work with me now, so i held my tongue...

Now I know ya'll are probably like..."That was a little harsh"....But you know what?...I missed out on the classes I wanted, had to get up early twice, and she gave me sum smart attitude 2 days in a row...I was not having it....Especially from a peer...a student...she didn't have any real authority....I was NOT gonna let someone who might be a classmate mess up my schedule...They have her making the little cheesy construction-paper posters in the hallways...She held no weight....No pull....No authority....I was not gonna let her hold up my schedule.....No way...No how....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Once: Shame on me.....Twice: Shame on you..... (11.05.02)