The Art of the Mind
Got an email yesterday...was kinda interesting......

Dear Christopher,

Each semester, the Registrar's Office at Georgia Southern University is

responsible for reporting student information to the Board of Regents.

Even though this information is not required or considered for entry to

the university, it still must be accurately reported.

Currently, we do not have an ethnic code for you in our system. At your

earliest convenience, please call 681-0862 or e-mail our office ([email protected])

so that we will have your correct ethnic information.

You may choose from one of the following ethnic codes:

A - Asian or Pacific Islander

B - Black (Non-Hispanic Origin)

H - Hispanic

I - American Indian or Alaskan Native

M - Multiracial

W - White (Non-Hispanic Origin)

Your prompt attention on this matter is greatly appreciated. Thank you

for your time and please feel free to call the Registrar's Office if you

have any questions.

Sincerely,

Eide R. Nesmith

Assistant Registrar

Now, tell me if thats not a blatant hypocracy....I guess they figured if that if its just blatantly put out there....I would "logically" assume that there certainly mustn't be anything wrong with what they just told me.....

Hello, my name is Christopher Jessamy you requested my ethnic orientation....I am Black....

Take Care,

Christopher Jessamy

PS....With all due respect, regardless of its effect on school admissions, I am curious as to know why we are given the option to forgo submitting our ethnic background, yet in doing so, we eventually must report it anyway, thus defeating our personal reasons for not doing so.....Secondly, considering this is somewhat personal information, since this is dealing with my student information, I would like to know how, and for what reason, is this information being used....

A response would be greatly appreciated....

Have a nice day.....

Well....I hope I didn't get come off TOO strong.....well, actually....I DO hope I came off too strong.....Too many times have people been quieted and hushed into submission because of there lack of certainty, their ambiguity in gravity of interest...It's about time that such idiocracy and hypocracy is confronted....It's about time its called out for what it is.....Too many times have inquiring minds been silenced with "Sensitive Information" excuses....Well you know what, the fact that I MUST report my ethnic background for records' sake is sensitive to me..If there is a record with my information on it, I sure as heck want to know what it is.....ESPECIALLY when I'm inquired about it....YES....I most certainly HOPE they take me seriously....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Signed, Sealed, Delivered..... (09.19.02)