The Art of the Mind
On my way back from Baltimore this weekend, my mother and I got into some kind of conversation about age and children...At some point I told her that she'd most likely be a grandmother within the next 10 years....

She eventually responded with the basic "as long as she's a good woman" lecture/monologue and concluded it by saying, "someone like Dilini would be nice"...Dilini is my homegirl from Sri Lanka...known her for years....

The reason that's an important factor in the conversation is that my mother has not heard a lick of notice about Dilini since I've left Middle School...and to mention her as someone to court, well, that was kinda odd....As I began to question how she even remembered Dilini, she wore this innocent look on her face as if she was holding something back...And then it hit me....

My mother is half Pakistani...Dilini is Southeast Asia as well...My mother wants me to marry a girl from that area because her lineage is from that area...And when I made the connection, all she could do was laugh and say, "I want my grandchildren to have that part of my heritage to, you know"....

I'm aware that my mother says some things sometimes...And after a while, I learn to expect them, or at least not be surprised by them...But this time....I would never thought...All my life we've pretty much identified ourselves as Black...so when my mother decides to consider it a bonus for me to marry a girl from a certain background...Who woulda thought it'd be an "Indian girl"?...

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Wish they all can be Punjabi girls... (05.27.03)