The Art of the Mind
(Second entry for the day)

Well, so far, the only thing that looks like it's gonna go well is the Christmas dinner...Since I got up this morning, nothing's been much merry about the day....

First thing I heard this morning: "Christopher, get up, you have to go clean the bathroom...."

No "Merry Christmas"...heck, not even a "Good Morning"....This is then followed by my idle glance out the window....Yes, there was frigid precipitation, but no flaky white stuff....Ice-rain hits my window this morning....Ice-friggin-rain.....

Following with the current theme of events.....WHILE I'm cleaning the bathroom which my sister supposedly cleaned the day prior, I am virulently berated for only cleaning the floors and not the counters in the kitchen last night....(Let me just say that the counters were not completely cleared because they were using them at the time, actually creating said mess)....So, they're scolding me for my incomplete tasks right after they tell me to do my sister's incomplete tasks.....I bring this to their attention, and an all out verbal battle ensues...Haven't even been out of bed 2hours yet.....

As if that's not enough, I am broke, I probably have about 5 dollars to my name, most of which in coins....That said, imagine how it feels to recieve gifts from friends, but have no means by which to reciprocate?....At least with that, I'll get some money from relatives and buy presents while I'm either in Atlanta, or when I come back home.....

Went with my father to pick up my grandmother from Brooklyn...On the way, we stopped by my brother's house (first time I've seen or spoken to him in the past 2 years)....Saw his daughter, she's 7 months old now, and cute too....Gave me a much needed smile...But on the way back home, I realized that I don't have that kind of relationship with my brother that I'd just stop by "just 'cause"...Nah, onyl time we really see each other is at funerals and/or Christmas....Other than that, everyone's just a memory....

The last thing that has gone wrong so far is when I got home from Brooklyn....I walk into the house to find Pudgie barking and barking in the basement....I take a quick peak down there to see what all the commotion was about...and there's WATER all over the floor....not some little bit of water, not a few small puddles....but a BIG, BLOB, of WATER!....Needless to say, Christopher is then called on to go downstairs with the wet-vac and suck up all the water in the basement before he has to actually clean/pretty-up the basement....All this while everyone else sits upstairs eating, drinking, and having a jolly good time....So there I am, wet, cold, and hungry (haven't had time to eat since I woke up, all this has been back-to-back happening)...I finally finish my bid in the basement, and I'm looking for something to settle my empty tummy...As I reach for an orange in the refridgerator....I am told that I'm NOT to eat anything for dinner will soon be ready....I'm sorry...But I know that "soon" won't be for another 2-3hrs...So i just gave up right there, decided not to give a rat's rump, and ate an orange, pronouncing that my belly waxed great pain from lack of food since last night, and at this point I'd rather lose my appetite later than stay 2hrs more with these stomach cramps......

Don't get me wrong, I'm not Anti-Christmas or anything, but I can't help but to wonder if something like this occupied the early years of Old Ebenezer....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Bah HumBUG-OFF (12.25.02)