The Art of the Mind
Well all....Today's entry is dedicated to something I know very little about....Sleep Paralysis.....

Now...I truly do not know what the hell to make of it....I guess I'd first describe it to you and maybe you have experienced this thing as well.....Basically, as the name implies, its this phenomenon when you cannot move your body, either coming out of or going into sleep...Your whole body can't move and you feel as if a crushing pressure is laid upon your chest, making it hard to breathe....You try to call out for help but you cannot even open your mouth to make a sound, and even if your mouth is open, you try and try, but no sound comes out....I tell you, it is the scariset thing I have ever experienced....What's more, you feel a presence....Honestly, my knowledge of spirits and demons is minimal, but nonetheless...you can just feel the evil of the presence....It, meaning teh presence, just feels wrong....You try to move and fight, but you can't seem to budge not one muscle.....I've found that eventually you do move, but I've only done so by trying to fight, never by just "seeing what happens"....I've considered jsut relaxing and "letting go"...but it really is scary....The longer you stay in this state, you can actually FEEL the strength of teh pressure growing and the degree of the paralysis growing as well....And when you do change your mind, and want to "break free" you find it harder than doing so from teh beginning.....

This has been happening to me since I was about 10-11 years old....I rememebr the first time was when I went to Virginia for my cousin's wedding....I was laying in the bed the night before, about to dose off, and suddenly, I felt this presence/energy/being/something passing through me, like a wave, from my feet up and I couldn't move at all...Needless to say, I was terrified and immediately attempted to call out to my mother from across teh room (we were in a motel)....but my efforts were in vain, as I could only get out a slight whisper.....I later tried to tell my mother about what happened but she only told me I had a bad dream....Since then, I've encountered it upon numerous occassions.....On a few of these occasions, I would get them multiple times per night for a week or so.....

I know I probably sound crazy, but I am telling the truth, and I assure you that I'm sane.......This is a VERY frightening occurance....Only reason I write this now is because it happened to me again today....This time, I tried to let myself go, and "see what happens"....Never again.....As I tried not to fight it adn to suppress my fear as much as possible....I felt this burning sensation in my chest and side.....And where that burning was on my side, I also felt a piercing/slicing sensation, as if I had been stabbed from the inside out....And I only use "sensation" because I did not physically see anything there.....But find me a word higher then that, and I'll probably use it....What ever that piercing feeling was....It actually HURT....And again, like all teh other times before, I felt that same evil presence, as if it were taking pleasure in what it was doing....I mean, honestly, right now, I'm a little hesitant to go to bed...That makes me sound so childish, but coming from my experiences, I at least know that I don't just get one and then that's it....When it happens, there's usually at least one or two more coming for the night.....

All I can say is pray for me.....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Sleeping With One Eye Open........ (10.21.02)