The Art of the Mind
Ok...I don't exactly remember HOW i got thinking about this topic....oh yeah, I was talking to Kika and she was telling me about her friend that wanted to go into modelling....and I was saying that he should, he definately has the look...Like one of those dudes you'd see on a Macy's magazine ad or sumthing.....then it got me thinking....Who really takes those ads seriously?....I mean, think about it....If you look at them...You'll find a politically correct, multicultural group of friends (don't get me wrong, it's a good thought, but how about some reality?) who are ALL good-looking....I'm sorry, but that right there acnnot be for real....I mean, whodo they really think they are?...Social Power Rangers?....I'm seriously waiting for Zordon to just call 'em up on they're brand new Perry Ellis wrist-communicators, warning them of impending danger from Rita and Lord Zed as they plan to raise sales prices at Sears by 300%.....

And then....to make matters worse...They're lounging....not in a living room, not at a caf�....not even in a garage.....but in the middle of NOWHERE on a couch....WHO in their RIGHT mind sit's in a couch in the misddle of nowhere?.....but NOOOOO....they're cool....they sit hangout on a piece of furniture that's probably been "used" by every passing dog, squirrel, and cat in the neigborhood...giving it that "rustic" aroma that only a "marked territory" can give.....It's ridiculous.....

Then one can't help to wonder if only interracial couples dawn such apparel....I mean....political correctness is cool and all....but for real now, does EVERYONE have to be in a black-white...white-asian...black-asian....etc relationship?....It's very disturbing to see that the people who make the decisions for these ads feel that its a GREAT idea to make EVERYONE date outside their race while selling teh clothes, and it'll be believeable....Don't get me wrong, I applaud the effort put forth to include all, but i dunno....it just doesn't seem right HOW they did it.....

Please let me know....Is it jsut me?...or am I bringin a valid point here?....Surely I'm not the ONLY one that feels this way....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / It Just Don't Ad Up....... (10.14.02)