The Art of the Mind
And so today was my final day at the lab...Tanina and myself presented our poster yesterday and today, answered questions about it, so on and so forth....All in all, I must say that these past 10weeks, though empty and/or monotonous at times, was well worth it....

However, speaking of "worth"....My stipend for the summer was $4000 total...Our checks were cut in $2000 amounts....Now, both Tanina and myself had problems at first getting our 1st check, we weren't told the payment schedule or anything like that....Finally, they sent out the checks but my first one was late...I ended up receiving it when Tanina got her 2nd check (a few days after she received her 1st one)...Since hers was sent locally to her NC apartment and mine was sent here, to NY, I figured it was just mail-time delay...

By last week, I still saw none of my 2nd check, I called the school and they said it was cut and mailed off...Needless to say, something was fishy...While I was in NC last week, I went to the Accounting office to investigate for myself....And sure enough, with my infamous luck....

Someone else got my check and cashed it....Ain't that something?...

Since most banks work over the Net now, we saw a picture of the forged signiture on the back of said check...Turns out, it wasn't the 2nd check missing, I received that one on time with Tanina's 2nd check...It was the 1st check that went missing from the jump...

Instinct would say its probably someone at the school who did it...But thing is, it was done at a NY bank, and from the woman told me, the bank is the same city as where I deposited the check that I received...

I ended up having to sign an affidavit stating that I never received nor gained benefit from the check....Now I have to wait 90 days for investigation because its now a State or Federal issue....

3 months to look into it...I mean, I'm gonna get my money back...I better get my money back....But my problem is, it's money that I really needed right now....Between having a new apartment, getting stuff for there, textbooks, food, bills, and everyday stuff....It's time to start hustlin again...I really needed that 2G's...

::sigh::...I knew I shoulda told them Direct Deposit...

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / That's "Grimey"....with 2 G's.... (08.13.04)