The Art of the Mind
I bought that Tupac book today...I've always wanted it...He truly was a poet...I had a conversation about rap and hip-hop the other day with a few friends, and I realized something...the modern Biggie Smalls is Jay-Z...while Tupac's current equivalent is Nas...he too is a poet..Tupac and Nas are poets before rappers...without a doubt....

Poetry...

To me, it's the envy of all the world...Everyone wants it, in some form or another...Whether it's to write it...Maybe to hear it...Some claim to hate it because they can't grasp it....We all want to master it...to control it...

But we are it....

Poetry is softer than a song, but so much more stronger...Poetry is louder than plain speech, but so much less as harsh...

To me...words are like dance moves...Anyone can use them, but you know what?...When you can put them together to show something new...that is art...that's poetry...

I write because as the days go by, poetry becomes more of my life....more of who I am...and I make up my own dance...on paper...

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Teach My Pen to Dance.... (09.30.03)