The Art of the Mind
In all the support and advice that I give and all that fine goodness....I never could help anyone dealing with death...

A friend of mine died a few days ago...He had cancer, none of us knew, but I dunno what kind...

I'm a little bothered that I don't feel anything at all...as if I never even knew him....But what's more, is that Tiff, she's like a little sister, is torn apart because of it...and I'm her shoulder to cry on, but I have nothing to say....I can't feel what she's feeling...I can't help her...

All I can think to say is "It's ok," or "You'll be alright," doing a poor job hiding my apathy...as if she lost a piece of jewlery or failed a test...

To say, "That's life"...or, "It happens"...or even "We gotta go sometime"...That's a bit too harsh...But thats basically how I feel...that's sad to say, but true...I've been surrounded by death since I was very young...At that age, you don't really understand, and I suppose that same nonchalance stuck with me even when I understand now....I suppose I understand death....maybe even too well....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / Six Feet UNDERstand.... (05.02.03)