The Art of the Mind
I'm an athlete...More specifically, I'm a wrestler...It's what I do, it's become a large part of who I am...This isn't exactly the "My Love for Wrestling" entry I've always planned on typing, so I'll only brush it briefly....

Anyway...Wrestling is a one-on-one sport of constant exertion for 3 2-minute periods....Try sprinting for 2 minutes straight, with weights, and thats only a general feel of it....As a wrestler, you learn that its just you and your opponent, and only one person wins--so it better be you....You learn that someone has to give first, and as long as you believe that it won't be you...you'll triumph...Especially in my case...I'm a big guy, but in my particular weight-class, I was the runt...middle school I'd weigh in at 200lbs, these guys are about 230lbs...In high school, I was 220lbs as a freshman, wrestling 275lbs seniors...

There's so much more, but thats the only part relevant right now...I think it's that part right there that has had the most impact on me since I took up the sport...I learned that no matter how bad the odds are against me, I had to win...No complaining, no whimpering....I just had to go out there, face my opponent, and win....If I lost, which was very seldom as a result, I would say not a word about it...I'd keep all that hurt/pain/disappointment to myself (half of that's my father's influence, but that a whole other entry too), take the abuse, accept it, and work to be better next time...

I mean, don't get me wrong...It hurt...It sure as hell hurt to be dominated by someone else barehanded...But thats the point of the sport, avoid being dominated, and impose your own victory...I can't be mad for someone to do they're job, I can only swallow the fact that I was the one involved, and believe that I'm teh better wrestler next bout....

All that to say, that in terms of life and its seemingly entropic nature, I've faced it with a wrestler's percpective always, no matter what the situation, where obstacles became my opponent and luck is my trophy...

However, as opposed to the real thing, I seem to suck at wrestling life's obstacles...I mean, I've been in the game 19 years this coming March....And my record is just about pitiful...It got to the point, where I wouldn't even go for luck anymore...I just wrestled to wrestle...And if I lost per usual, then it'd be nothing different, and easier since my heart wasn't set on a goal....

But every now and then...One can't help but yearn to win at least ONE bout...So obviously, I'd try my prowess....Do everything I can, every move I know...Just to win that Luck for once...But it seems that its when I actually DO try hard, that I end up losing worse than usual...

But hey....I'm a wrestler right?....And wrestlers don't complain...And wrestlers don't whimper...And wrestlers just go out there to win...And if a wrestler loses, they just suck it up, deal with it, accept it, and keep moving....even if they are injured and broken....Forest Gump's Mama always said that "Life is like a box of chocolates...You never know what you're gonna get"...

Yeah, well...I often wonder why I try to "get" anything anymore...Maybe this Luck trophy is one of those fake medals with the gold foil and chocolate inside...Just an illusion I've been tryna earn for the longest...It makes no sense to compete for something not worth anything...I should just stop, accept my loosing streak, and let go of the Chocolate Luck...'Cause honestly, sometimes this here wrestler thinks he's allergic....

<< | >>
Christopher / Entries / Feedback / 8-Second Pin..... (02.18.03)